A Portrait of the Addict as a Young Man

daedalus

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to this whole Reboot thing.  I found another forum through YBOP, but to be honest, I'm gay, and this one seemed more inclusive to different situations.  So here I am.

I'm 25, and I've been addicted to P since I was about 9 years old.  It's really crazy to think that I've had this problem for most of my life.  It started as an idle curiosity, but it quickly became a big problem.  When I was in high school, I had other family problems, which led me to start cutting myself.  My mom decided to get help from a Christian therapist.  When she found out that I'd been looking at P, she told my counselor about it.  They both seemed more concerned with the fact that it was gay, and not that it was an addiction to P.  That's when we stopped doing therapy for depression and started doing conversion therapy.  I felt so isolated and trapped, that to be honest, my only solace at the time was in P.  It became a game figuring out a way to view it without anybody finding out.

I was still battling the addiction when I started college, but by that time the severity of my usage was changing from season to season.  I met my first and only boyfriend just after my 22nd birthday, and I fell head-over-heels for him almost instantly.  At the time, my addiction was not rearing its ugly head like it normally does, so I decided to swear off P for good.  I had a boyfriend, and I was happy with him.  I reasoned that the only reason I looked at it was because I had been alone.  I managed to go about four months without it before I relapsed, and I never went back to normal.  Once again, I tried to "reason" it out.  We were both working students, and we lived about a 45 minute drive from each other, so we couldn't see each other every day of the week.  To me, it seemed acceptable that I (secretly) watch P on days that I knew we weren't going to see each other.